Martha Had a Big But – Bible Verses Inspiration – God Can

I am following a new (for me) blog — http://darrellcreswell.wordpress.com/

His Saturday post is well worth passing on to you because it speaks to such an important topic for us. When we are full of doubts,  worries, temptations, reality or just plain negativity and other such stuff, our enemy would try to defeat us with it, wanting us to give in or give up to escape the stress.

But we need a better strategy, God doesn’t want us to succumb into giving in or giving up. He would rather that we call on Him.

That is what Paul talks about in Romans 12:2, Don’t conform to this world system, BUT be transformed in the renewing of your mind. Think thoughts of God and His love, care and concern for you and your loved ones. In Philippians 4:6-7 Paul tells us to be anxious for nothing BUT in prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made unto God and the peace of God will keep your hearts and minds.

Then he further tells us, in verse 8, what we should be thinking on: whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

I am not saying we are to deny reality, but I am saying we have to watch our self-talk. In good times and bad, we need to be filling our minds with who God is and that He does love us, cares for us, and does have concern for us. He proved it in Jesus Christ’s death and resurrection.

I will end here so you can read the blog post below. I pray that you catch what it is saying – where we can’t GOD CAN!

Thanks to Darrell Creswell for allowing me to post his blog.

+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-

Martha Had a Big But – Bible Verses Inspiration – God Can

BY ON FEBRUARY 16, 2013 

Grace wings praise Philippians 4:6I wrote this piece a couple of years ago and have decided to rewrite it and share it again with many new readers. The title of this piece makes people pay attention when I say, “Martha had a BIG BUT”. It definitely gets your attention. You definitely get folks attention with that one! Now that I have your attention there is a deep spiritual lesson we will learn from Martha’s big BUT.

Jesus gets a message one of his best friends is gravely ill. The sisters of the man have sent Jesus a message that he needs to come very quickly because their brother is near death. Yet Jesus indicates to the disciples, that all is well and that his friend is sleeping, but he is going to go wake him up. What Jesus was saying which went right over their heads is that Jesus already knew that his friend had succumbed to the sickness, he was dead.

So Jesus and his disciples set out for Bethany to go see His friend Lazarus. The trip there takes them four days. As Jesus is arriving he is informed that His friend Lazarus has been dead for four days. Martha the older sister of Lazarus goes out to meet Him. As she is walking up Jesus she says –

John 11:21-22 If you had been here, my brother would not have died, “BUT” I know that even now God will give you whatever you ask.

The first thing she says to Jesus is, Lord if you had only been here, my bother would not have died. She believed that Jesus physically being there would have made a difference. The fact is she was saying literally….. But, “I know that whatever you ask of God, God will give you”.

She knew her brother was dead, she had watched him die. She had wrapped him in his burial clothes. She had buried Him. She told Jesus that she knew Lazarus would not have died had Jesus been there. And then she throws in the bombshell, the BIG BUT. What Martha was plainly saying to Jesus was, Lazarus is dead, BUT all you have to do is just ask and God will give you your request, even restoring my dead brother back to life,” That’s it plain and simple. Now that is faith.

That is revelation of the power of Christ. We need that kind of faith and revelation in our lives that Martha had. We all need big BUTS

Lord I am lonely – BUT you can

Lord, I have cancer – BUT You can

Lord, I have lost my job – BUT You can

Lord my wife has left me – BUT You can

Lord my marriage is broken – BUT you can

Lord it’s all over, I have lost everything – BUT You can

You can, You can, You can

No matter the situation; no matter how desperate it seems; nothing is final in the hands of the living God. There is always a BUT. The enemy will whisper in our ears and try to defeat us with lies – If we could have reached a doctor, if only the roads had been dry, if we had only stayed at home, if she had only left the window open; instead of saying if, we can say BUT.

I am ill Lord – BUT You can make me well

I am heartbroken Lord – BUT You can give me joy

I am broke and homeless Lord – BUT You can rescue me

I am out of work Lord – BUT You can find me employment.

My children are lost Lord – BUT You can bring them salvation

My marriage is broken Lord – BUT You can bring us back together.

Let your breaths of petitions boldly fly on wings of grace to reach the Father’s ears.

John 11:43-44 Jesus called in a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out!” The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face.

Jesus called out to Lazarus and out he came. The Bible says, Lazarus came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face. Jesus said to those standing around, who were probably in awe, gawking, with their eyes bulging out of their heads, “Get those grave-clothes off of him”. Being covered with strips of linen and with a hood over his head he was probably was hopping around and could not see where he was going. I think it would have been more humorous that way anyhow as seeing a dead man rising from the grave would seem to spook a lot of people, but if he came out hopping around, and blind-folded; well that’s a whole different story.

The lesson I want you to take from this is to learn a new use and definition for the word BUT

Believe

Understand

Trust

BUT, a divine definition that means – God can and God will! We have been taught the word but is usually used in a negative connotation. BUT, when BUT comes to God, it opens a door for victory and restoration.

Ephesians 3:20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-

PS (from Bob): Take a sheet of paper and fold it into 2 columns. Add your own worries, cares and concerns in one column, then in the other write BUT GOD and what He can do in that given situation.

And then tell God you trust Him for the answer, thank and praise Him for being able to answer them. And thank Him for His grace that He has given you in Christ Jesus. After all He has got you safely this far hasn’t He.

This I recall to my mind,
Therefore I have hope.
Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed,
Because His compassions fail not.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
“Therefore I hope in Him!”
—Lamentations 3:21-24

