An Affirmation

I copied the following passage from a ‘What Christians Want To Know’ Facebook post the other day. It is Colossians 2:13-15 and I don’t recognize the translation it is from (I couldn’t find it in Biblegateway’s list of versions).

“We were spiritually dead because of our sins and were not free from the power of our sinful self. But God gave us a new life in Christ. He forgave all our sins. We owed a debt—But God forgave us of that debt. He took it away and nailed it to the cross. He defeated the rulers and powers of the spiritual world. With the cross he won the victory over them and led them away, as defeated and powerless prisoners for the whole world to see. He paid it all.”

But in looking for it I came up with another phrase to add to my affirmation/declaration from this passage. “He took their power away!” It emphasizes all the more they are defeated and they can’t use the charges of my old sins against me. (They still try but God’s grace is sufficient to remind me of His truth louder than their lies.)

It is from the New Life version: “God took away the power of the leaders of this world and the powers of darkness.”

I just love the Holy Spirit for continuously opening up this passage in Colossians to me. Bless God for His mercy and the love wherein He loved us. (Eph 2:4)

My affirmation/declaration now reads:

I was dead because of my sins and because my sinful nature was not yet cut away. Then God made me alive with Christ, for He forgave all my sins. He canceled the record of the charges against me and took it away (destroying it) by nailing it to the cross. In this way, He disarmed the spiritual rulers and authorities. He took away their power and He shamed them publicly by His victory over them on the cross. And they can no longer use those charges against me.
(Col 2:13-15)

I must constantly remind myself of the goodness of God and my new identity in Christ. My pastor said a couple weeks ago in sharing this passage (Col 2:8-23) that it would be easier to preach behavior than identity. But it is only in knowing our new identity in Christ that we can really grow in the freedom God has for us in Christ.

